Mini pavlovas, pesto and crème brûlée

When you’re feeling down and you’re wondering what to do, cooking is always a good answer.

That’s what I’ve been doing these past few days. I cooked and baked and ate.

Inspired by a friend’s wedding cake, I decided it was time to try and make another pavlova. I had already made a few (ehm, three) back in 2007, and they were quite good. So I put my oven to the test, and made about a dozen mini meringues. With some a lot of whipped cream and fresh fruit (kiwi and raspberries) on top, I had a dozen nice and pretty mini pavlovas. Here’s one.

It looks a bit messy, but it was delicious!

As it was the pesto I made using the basil I’m growing. My pasta looked like this (and tasted great!)

My basil plant now looks like this

Then what to do with the egg yolks left over from the meringue recipe? Crème brûlée!

Voilà!

5 thoughts on “Mini pavlovas, pesto and crème brûlée

Leave a Reply

