Season of Mists

I used to like those days “in-between” summer and autumn. When it starts to get chilly in the morning, leaves turn yellow, red, brown, and the sun is still bright and warm.

But this year, I feel like summer has never really started. Yes, we had a few warm, sunny days in July, maybe a couple in August. I also went back to Italy twice – end of July and end of August – and I did enjoy two weeks of real summer. And that’s it. For the most part, what I remember about this summer in the Netherlands is grey skies, wind and rain. An autumn-like summer.

I really feel like I missed something. A beautiful spring turned into autumn, giving us just a glimpse of summer.

I look out the window. The sky is grey, the wind is blowing and it’s raining. It’s also getting cooler, so autumn is definitely here.

But this year I’m not sure I can enjoy the change. I read Keats’ poem To Autumn, I look outside and I can’t see the mellow fruitfulness, I can’t think that warm days will never cease. I can only wonder where are the songs of Spring?

Leave a Reply

