How Green Is My Lasagna

I love veggies.

I’m not vegetarian, but I definitely prefer to cook and eat vegetables.

Broccoli is one thing that I can’t do without. I usually make it with pasta, and I have this super easy recipe. Just cut the broccoli in pieces, put them in boiling salted water, and after a couple of minutes add the pasta. Let everything cook, according to the time suggested on the package of the kind of past you’ve chosen. Then drain the pasta and broccoli, put them back in the pan, add some olive oil or butter, and sprinkle with some grated cheese (Parmesan will do, but lately I’ve been using Old Amsterdam cheese). And it’s now ready to serve.

It’s so delicious that we have it almost once a week, and I was a bit afraid of using the broccoli not for the usual recipe, but to try something new.

But I like experimenting new recipes, so I decided to make a green lasagna.

I used about half kilo broccoli. After cutting it in pieces, I sauteed it with a bit of olive oil and a clove of garlic. I cooked it for about 10-15 minutes, adding a bit of water once in a while. I seasoned it with a sprinkle of salt. Then I pureed the broccoli with a food processor.

While the broccoli puree cooled down, I prepared the bechamel. I melted in a pan 30g of butter, then I added 30g of flour. I mixed it well, and then I started adding slowly 450ml of warm milk. I seasoned it with salt, pepper and nutmeg, and I kept stirring until the sauce was thicker.

I added the broccoli puree to the bechamel and mixed well.

I then greased a baking tray with a bit of butter and a small spoonful of the “green bechamel”, and started layering lasagna-broccoli bechamel-generous handful of grated cheese-lasagna-broccoli bechamel-grated cheese and so on.

I put it in the oven, and after 30 minutes I had a lovely dinner!

One thought on “How Green Is My Lasagna

Leave a Reply

